So MS Dhoni and Bangladesh new pacer Mustafizur Rahman collided mid pitch and it seemed Dhoni had committed a murder. In all the taste of blaming a captain who possibly is also going through the worst time of his career, the entire media made it look like Dhoni intentionally became Zinadine Zidane and head butted Rahman out of the ground.
So let’s take another look at what happened exactly. In the 25th over of India’s batting, Dhoni ran into Mustafizur while taking a quick one, and looked as if he shoved him out of his way with his forearm. One look at it and Dhoni certainly looked in the wrong because of how he used his arm but let’s talk technicalities here.
Mustafizur is a left-arm quick who was bowling over the wicket to MS. The batsman pushed it to mid-off and set off for a quick one. Generally a bowler with that kind of action, in his follow through, will complete his follow through but what Mustafizur did was different. He walked across the pitch at a time when the ball was in no vicinity to field. He also could not have ambled to collect the throw because he was in a different line. Then after ambling across he also moved ever so slightly into the line Dhoni was coming in. Now to see how Dhoni was seeing it. He had Raina on his right. He couldn’t have trampled him. If Dhoni had moved across to shave off the collision with the bowler, he would have threatened his own wicket because of doing more distance. As any batsman would do, Dhoni also held his hand out because otherwise the collision would have mean he would be on the ground that isn’t anyone’s liking too. The bowler was hit and he took off the ground.
So Dhoni basically had three options. He could have got run-out and we could have gone bonkers saying he got out to save a collision thus National Pride doesn’t matter to Dhoni. He could have got injured himself or he could have got Raina run out. To me the Indian skipper made the right decision. The bowler also knows he is in the wrong and he communicated the same through the Bangladesh cricket team’s manager. Its only us and the media who want to crucify Dhoni for this because reading above and the bowler’s mind, who by the way also collided with the Rohit Sharma doing the same, it can be safely concluded the Indian skipper was not in the wrong.
Also, no one wants to check what the umpires think of the incident. The rules say that if in case of any penalties, the umpires have to take a decision immediately on the field. Which they did not of course. Which means they also did not read much into it.
buy gabapentin online canada PS: At the time of writing, I receive a notification stating Dhoni has been fined 75% of his fee and the bowler 50%. I am wondering what did the match referee see to do this because the bowler has agreed to his faux pa, the umpires on the field didn’t see anything and the Bangladeshi team is used to creating such nonsense earlier too.